96/97   

EVERTON: SEASON RECORD, 1997-98

   98/99
FA Carling Premiership  FA Cup  Coca-Cola Cup  Friendlies 
Season Progress Appearances Goalscorers Final Table

Hypertext links lead to full match details and a compilation of match reports, including all Premiership results and League Tables after each set of matches.   

FA CARLING PREMIERSHIP 1997-98

 
Day Date    Ven  Opponents          KO/Res  Pos   Att    Scorers                               
 
Sat Aug  9  (h) Crystal Palace       L 1-2  15th  35,716  Ferguson 
Sat Aug 23  (h) West Ham United      W 2-1  11th  34,356  Watson, Stuart
Wed Aug 27  (h) Manchester United TV L 0-2  15th  40,079  
Mon Sep  1  (a) Bolton Wanderers  TV D 0-0  14th  23,131                             
Sat Sep 13  (a) Derby County         L 1-3  18th  27,828  Stuart
Sat Sep 20  (h) Barnsley             W 4-2  13th  32,659  Speed 2, Oster, Cadamarteri
Wed Sep 24  (a) Newcastle United     L 0-1  16th  36,705
Sat Sep 27  (h) Arsenal              D 2-2  16th  35,457  Ball, Cadamarteri
Sat Oct  4  (a) Sheffield Wednesday  L 1-3  18th  24,486  Cadamarteri
Sat Oct 18  (h) Liverpool         TV W 2-0  16th  40,112  Ruddock (og), Cadamarteri
Sat Oct 25  (a) Coventry City        D 0-0  16th  18,760
Sun Nov  2  (h) Southampton       TV L 0-2  17th  29,565
Sat Nov  8  (a) Blackburn Rovers     L 2-3  17th  25,357  Speed, Ferguson
Sat Nov 22  (a) Aston Villa          L 1-2  20th  36,389  Speed (pen)
Wed Nov 26  (a) Chelsea              L 0-2  20th  34,148
Sat Nov 29  (h) Tottenham Hotspur    L 0-2  20th  36,476
Sat Dec  6  (a) Leeds United         D 0-0  19th  34,869
Sat Dec 13  (h) Wimbledon            D 0-0  19th  28,533
Sat Dec 20  (a) Leicester City       W 1-0  19th  20,628  Speed (pen)
Fri Dec 26  (a) Manchester United    L 0-2  19th  55,167
Sun Dec 28  (h) Bolton Wanderers     W 3-2  18th  37,149  Ferguson (3)
Sat Jan 10  (a) Crystal Palace       W 3-1  15th  23,311  Barmby, Ferguson, Madar
Sun Jan 18  (h) Chelsea           TV W 3-1  13th  32,355  Speed, Ferguson, Duberry (og)
Sat Jan 31  (a) West Ham United      D 2-2  14th  25,909  Barmby, Madar
Sat Feb  7  (a) Barnsley             D 2-2  15th  18,672  Ferguson, Grant
Sat Feb 14  (h) Derby County         L 1-2  16th  34,786  Thomsen
Mon Feb 23  (a) Liverpool         TV D 1-1  16th  44,501  Ferguson
Sat Feb 28  (h) Newcastle United     D 0-0  16th  37,972  
Sat Mar  7  (a) Southampton          L 1-2  16th  15,102  Tiler
Sat Mar 14  (h) Blackburn Rovers     W 1-0  16th  33,423  Madar
Sat Mar 28  (h) Aston Villa          L 1-4  17th  36,471  Madar
Sat Apr  4  (a) Tottenham Hotspur TV D 1-1  17th  35,624  Madar
Sat Apr 11  (h) Leeds United         W 2-0  15th  37,099  Hutchison, Ferguson
Mon Apr 13  (a) Wimbledon            D 0-0  16th  15,131 
Sat Apr 18  (h) Leicester City       D 1-1  16th  33,642  Madar
Sat Apr 25  (h) Sheffield Wednesday  L 1-3  17th  35,497  Ferguson
Sun May  3  (a) Arsenal           TV L 0-4  18th  38,269
Sun May 10  (h) Coventry City     TV D 1-1  17th  40,109  Farrelly


FINAL LEAGUE POSITION: 17th in the Premiership  Link to Final League Table

FA CUP 1998 Sponsored by Littlewoods Pools

 
Day  Date  Rnd Ven Opponents         Result   Att    Scorers             

Sun Jan  4 3rd (h) Newcastle United   L 0-1  20,885
 

COCA-COLA CUP 1997-98

 
Day  Date  Rnd Ven Opponents         Result   Att    Scorers                              

Tue Sep 16 2/1 (a) Scunthorpe United  W 1-0   7,145  Farrelly 
Wed Oct  1 2/2 (h) Scunthorpe United  W 5-0  11,562  Stuart, Oster, Barmby 2, Cadamarteri
Wed Oct 15 3rd (a) Coventry City      L 1-4  10,087  Barmby                  
         

PRE-SEASON & OTHER FRIENDLIES - 1997-98

 
Day  Date  Ven Opponents             Result   Att    Scorers                               

Wed 16 Jul (h) Glasgow Rangers       W 3-2  24,004  Branch, Stuart, Barmby - Dave Watson Testimonial 
Sat 19 Jul (a) Tranmere Rovers       L 0-3   7,684
Tue 22 Jul (a) Stoke City            W 2-0   9,210  Stuart, Barmby - Ian Cranson Testimonial     

UMBRO CUP

Sat 26 Jul (h) Ajax Amsterdam     TV W 1-0  15,249  Speed 
Also: Chelsea 1-1 Newcastle Utd -- Chelsea Win 3-1 on Penalties Sun 27 Jul (h) Chelsea TV L 1-3 10,289 Ferguson -- Umbro Cup Final Also: Newcastle United 0-3 Ajax -- 3rd Place Playoff

Tue 29 Jul (a) Guernsey Select       W 6-0  ~3,000  Stuart 2, McCann 2, Ferguson, Thomsen
Fri 1 Aug (a) Bristol City W 3-0 7,677 Farrelly, Stuart, Barmby Tue 19 Aug (a) Sheffield United W 4-0 5,645 Ferguson, Barmby 2, Branch Sun 7 Sep (a) Panathinaikos L 1-4 ~10,000 Branch Fri 23 Jan (a) Yeovil Town W 3-0 4,015 Speed 2 (1 pen), Barmby

LIVE TV COVERAGE

CSI Ltd distribute English Football *LIVE* to a variety of customers throughout the world.  For example, in pubs and clubs throughout Canada and the USA, this coverage is carried by Setanta Sport.  On Saturdays, a match is usually shown live (normal KO: 3pm BST) and is often the one featured later in BBC's Match of the Day.  However, it is not shown live in Britain, unless the kick-off is at least 2 hrs earlier or 4 hrs later.

Sky Sports carry live matches from the Premiership on Sundays and Mondays in Britain and Europe.  ITV will show some FA Cup matches *LIVE*, including Everton v Newcastle Utd.

The Live Sunday Afternoon Sky match (normal KO: 4pm BST) is also distributed throughout the world, including some (but not all) by Setanta Sport in North America.  

The Live Monday Night Sky match (normal KO: 8pm BST) is also distributed throughout the world by CSI Ltd and by ESPN International to SE Asia and Latin America, with some live coverage in Canada on TSN, and live or tape-delayed coverage in the USA on ESPN2.  Check your local listings.


Prepared by Michael Kenrick for Marko Poutiainen's Unofficial Everton Web Site