Everton release squad numbers for 2017-18

Tuesday, 11 July, 2017 0comments  |  Jump to last
Everton have announced the selected squad numbers for the coming season and there was a couple of surprises, not least for the formerly shunned Oumar Niasse.

With both the home and away kits now on sale and five additions to the first-team squad for 2017-18, the club have moved to form up the numbers that will appear on the back of each player.

Wayne Rooney's assumption of the No 10 jersey vacated by Romelu Lukaku was already known but Niasse's prospects of staying at Everton were perhaps boosted by the fact that, unlike at the start of last season, he has been assigned a number — 34.

Despite the No 4 shirt being available, Morgan Schneiderlin, who played in that number at Southampton and still has "4" in his Twitter handle, keeps No 2 and new signing Michael Keane will wear 4.

As expected, Sandro is the new bearer of the famous No 9, Jordan Pickford is the new No 1, Davy Klaassen takes No 20 while Yannick Bolasie has taken No 7.

Among the notable absentees are Kieran Dowell and Jonjoe Kenny, two players who might have hoped to get first-team opportunities this season, while Shani Tarashaj was also left off the list. The Swiss underwent knee surgery last week and is out for an unspecified length of time.

Full squad list so far:

1 Jordan Pickford
2 Morgan Schneiderlin
3 Leighton Baines
4 Michael Keane
5 Ashley Williams
6 Phil Jagielka
7 Yannick Bolasie
8 Ross Barkley
9 Sandro Ramirez
10 Wayne Rooney
11 Kevin Mirallas
12 Aaron Lennon
16 James McCarthy
17 Idrissa Gana Gueye
18 Gareth Barry
20 Davy Klaassen
21 Muhamed Besic
22 Maarten Stekelenburg
23 Seamus Coleman
25 Ramiro Funes Mori
26 Tom Davies
29 Dominic Calvert-Lewin
30 Mason Holgate
31 Ademola Lookman
33 Joel Robles
34 Oumar Niasse
38 Matthew Pennington
43 Jonjoe Kenny
46 Joe Williams  

About these ads