Skip to Main Content
Members:   Log In Sign Up
Text:  A  A  A
The Mail Bag

UEFA via CC final?

Comments (10)

Just wondered if anyone could help me out: I know we all want top 6 if not top 4 in the league, but I was wondering if we qualify for the UEFA cup if we beat Chelsea in the semi and Arsenal beat Spurs? Assuming Arsenal finish in the CL places would we qualify even as losing finalists? I know this happens in the FA Cup, but not sure about CC?

Hopefully we'll either win the Cup or qualify via the league, but just wanted to know?
Dan Sedlak, UK     Posted 27/12/2007 at 23:57:31

back Return to the Mail Bag

Comments

Note: the following content is not moderated or vetted by the site owners at the time of submission. Comments are the responsibility of the poster. Disclaimer


Gerry Morrison
1   Posted 28/12/2007 at 04:09:45

Report abuse

Unless they have changed the rules, the League Cup runners up do not qualify.
Fred Kwong
2   Posted 28/12/2007 at 05:57:21

Report abuse

Gerry’s right. The 5th place team in EPL, Carling Cup Winner and FA Cup winner qualify for UEFA cup next season. If the Carling Cup Winner qualifies for the UEFA Champions League for next season, the place goes to the 6th placed team in EPL.
Dave Trudgeon
3   Posted 28/12/2007 at 09:04:41

Report abuse

Millwall got into the Uefa Cup from being in the final of the FA Cup, I think that's where the confusion comes from.
Mark Allen
4   Posted 28/12/2007 at 10:07:42

Report abuse

fred

interesting you mention that only 5th qualifies (I had to go and double check that qualification and ’cause you’re right).

We’ve got into the habbit of thinking that 6th will qualify for Europe only because of the CL qualifiers’ recent monopolisation of the cups. Even the mighty BBC seems to have fallen into that mindset, 5th and 6th divided off on their PL table in the same way as top 4 and bottom 3.
Jez Clein
5   Posted 28/12/2007 at 10:32:07

Report abuse

A couple of years ago when Wigan got beat 4-0 by Man Utd in the Carling Cup final they did NOT qualify for Europe despite Utd being in the CL
John Pickles
6   Posted 28/12/2007 at 11:04:45

Report abuse

Then again if you change your name to Liverpool you can get a CL place no matter where you finish!
Paul Dewhurst
7   Posted 28/12/2007 at 12:18:17

Report abuse

As I understand euro qualification:

Top 4 CL

5th Uefa Cup

Fa Cup Winners uefa Cup

League Cup Winners Uefa Cup

If one of the top four win FA Cup then the finalists get uefa spot if they are both finalis are top 4 then its transfered to the league.

If one of the top four win the league cup then the place is transfered to the league automatically and the finalists get nothing

If you finnish in the Uefa spot through league position and win the one of the cups that the adds another league placings.

This is how the EPL gets 7 euro entries as 1 of the top four usually win the cups its normally decided on league placings. But Millwall and west ham have both got uefa spots as runner up in Cup Finals in recent years.


Or as john says Paint yourself red sell your soul to the devil, and loose all manner of decency and then the rules above don apply!!!!!
Dan Sedlak
8   Posted 28/12/2007 at 13:40:00

Report abuse

Thanks guys, very clear - although a touch disappointing!
Stu Johnson
9   Posted 28/12/2007 at 15:21:56

Report abuse

WE?LL finish 4th anyway
COYB!!!
Peter Pickles
10   Posted 28/12/2007 at 18:11:33

Report abuse

Vote now... Vote often..

http://football.guardian.co.uk/poll/0,,2232578,00.html


© ToffeeWeb
Menu
OK

We use cookies to enhance your experience on ToffeeWeb and to enable certain features. By using the website you are consenting to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.